What is Energy?
Let's talk about Energy and specifically
how it is related to the body.

What are the Chakras?

A chakra (pronounced “cha”-“kra” with a resounding “ch”) is a centre of energy. Originating from Sanskrit, it literally means “wheel” by association with its function as a vortex of spinning energy interacting with various physiological and neurological systems in the body.

Chakras, by definition, are energy centres within the human body that help to regulate all its processes, from organ function to the immune system and emotions. Seven chakras are positioned throughout your body, from the base of your spine to the crown of your head. Each chakra has its own vibrational frequency, colour, and governs specific functions that help make you, well, human. Before we define chakras and explore the meaning of each, it is essential to understand one thing….

"You are energy.
All living things are created by and comprised of energy.
The ability of your energy centres to function optimally is what keeps you psychologically, emotionally, physically, and spiritually balanced."

The term chakra is Sanskrit for “wheel.” Rightfully so, chakras are regularly depicted as spinning, coloured wheels of energy. For millennia, chakras have been recognised as essential to life. Discussions about chakras originate in India around 1,500 B.C. and there is also mention of them in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, dating to circa 200 B.C. However, the West didn’t hear much about chakras until the subject was introduced by Sir John Woodroffe (aka Arthur Avalon) in the early 20th century.

What are the 7 Chakras?
When exploring the chakras, it’s best to start at the beginning. Below is a list of each chakra, starting with the base of the spine and moving up. Given is the chakra name, location, colour, and function.

Root (1st) — Base of the spine; red; governs survival instincts, grounding.
Sacral (2nd) — Lower abdomen; orange; governs sexuality, intuition, self-worth/-esteem.
Solar Plexus (3rd) — Upper abdomen; yellow; governs impulse control, ego.
Heart (4th) — Centre of the chest; green; governs compassion, spirituality.
Throat (5th) — Throat; blue; governs communication, emotion.
Third Eye (6th) — Between the eyes; purple; governs rationality, wisdom, imagination.
Crown (7th) — Top of the head; indigo; governs connection with the Divine.

Chakra Balancing
Anytime a chakra becomes blocked, under-active or over-active, it can throw you off balance physically, emotionally, mentally, and spiritually. For instance, if you have ever experienced persistent trouble expressing yourself, felt like you’re walking around in an emotional “fog,” or suffered through several bouts of laryngitis or sore throats these are all signs you may have an imbalanced throat chakra. Generally speaking, when chakras are “off,” the body is excellent about communicating what ones are affected. When you consider all the signs you are experiencing, be they physical or not, odds are they’re centred around the area of the affected chakra.

Chakra Cleansing
To restore balance to the chakras, cleansing is needed.

In order to restore the positive balance to the affected energy centre, the entire blockage and/or negativity must be removed. The most common method to balance chakras is energy healing, which can include:

Sound Healing
Vocal Toning
Conscious Breathing
Chakra Meditation

Sound Healing with Mark © 2020-2022
Please click here to view our Privacy Policy.

Find Us

9/4 Hyam Street
Balmain NSW 2041
(Entrance is via the Park)

Join the Mailing List