Let's talk about
the Heart Chakra

The Heart Chakra

Colour: Green, Pink, and sometimes Gold
Element: Air
Sense: Touch
Fundamental Principle: Devotion, self-abandonment
Body Association: Heart, upper back, thorax and thoracic cavity, lower lungs, the blood and circulatory system and the skin.
Gland: Thymus, which regulates and controls the lymphatic system

Purpose and Function

The 4th chakra (Heart Chakra) is located in the centre of the breast at the height of your heart. It is the centre of the entire chakra system and connects the LOWER (Physical & Emotional Centres) to the three HIGHER (Mental & Spiritual Centres.)
The Heart Chakra is a very important chakra. With the Heart Chakra, we find the capability to empathise and sympathise with others. We attune ourselves with the cosmic vibrations and perceive the beauty in nature, music, visual arts and poetry. Here, all images, words and sounds are transformed into feelings.
All yearning for deep intimate contact, oneness, harmony, love, even sorrow, pain, fear of separation or loss of love is expressed through the Heart Chakra. When completely opened, it forms the centre of true “unconditional” love.
When this “unconditional” love is connected with the higher chakras, it transforms itself into Bhakti, the Divine Love, which guides us to unity with this Divine Heart of all things in the universe. En-route toward this goal, our heart must learn to love, understand and accept ourselves (personality) which is the prerequisite to saying “yes” to others and life in general. All our experiences, wishes and emotions have a much deeper sense and purpose, which guide us to a loving acceptance that all feelings and expressions of life originate from the longing for love.

With every negation and rejection, we regenerate separation and negativity, whereas a positive and loving acceptance (a conscious “yes”) produces vibrations which neutralise (kill, so to speak) negative thoughts and feelings. Simply put, you can neutralise those intense feelings of grief, anger or despair with your loving, unbiased and undivided attention — positive thoughts and feelings.
With our Heart Chakra, we possess a great potential for healing others as well as ourselves. If you suffer from pain or illness, send the afflicted organ or area of your body your loving attention and it will help and accelerate the recuperation period enormously. If we can learn to love from the depths of our own heart and fully accept our entire personality, an opened Heart Chakra can have a spontaneous healing or transforming influence on ourselves and others.
The Heart Chakra radiates colours of green, pink, and sometimes gold. Green is the colour of healing and sympathy and harmony. If an enlightened person (ie. someone who can see human auras) perceives a clear, light-green in a person’s heart chakra, this would indicate a well-developed capability to heal, while a golden aura mixed with pink would show a person who lives in pure and selfless love of the Divine.
Within the Heart Chakra is the deepest and most vivid feeling of love. It also plays an important role in refining the perception of an open Third Eye, and it is for this reason that the spiritual schools in the East concentrate particularly on the opening of the Heart Chakra.

Harmonious Functioning

Working in harmony with all the other chakras, a completely open Heart Chakra can change the world around you and unite, reconcile, or even heal the person within your surroundings. Your entire being radiates natural warmth, sincerity and happiness. These wondrous energies open the hearts of the people around you, inspiring confidence and creating joy among them. A great compassion and willingness to help others comes perfectly natural to you. You love for love’s sake. You are motivated by the joy of giving and do not expect to gain anything in return. Your heart is in everything you do. You “unconditionally” love all! Through this wisdom, you view the world and personal experiences in a new light. You no longer look at life from a distance and think that it has nothing to do with you. You see all life as part of your own life and that “life” in its purest and most original form signifies an everlasting expression of Divine Love and bliss. All is love!

Disharmonious Functioning

A malfunctioning Heart Chakra may express itself in various ways. You may want to always be there for others and give freely, but consciously, you may want/expect recognition in return for all the love you give them. Then, if your efforts are not sufficiently appreciated, you may feel deeply disappointed. You may also feel that you are strong and powerful enough to give away some of your strength but incapable of accepting the love that others may want to give you. In this way, you are unable to open yourself to receiving the love of others. Emotions aligned with tenderness and softness probably embarrass you and make you feel weak, vulnerable to injury and dependent upon the love and affection of others. You are deeply hurt by rejection, especially after you gathered the courage to open yourself up. When this happens, you feel like withdrawing into your inner shell. You are sad and depressed. You want to give your love but your fear of being rejected makes it impossible. You feel you don’t know how to love, thus reinforcing your shortcomings and inability. You may compensate for your lack of love by adopting an extremely friendly personality, treating people equally in an impersonal manner without genuine involvement. When your heart is called for, you may evade the situation and shut yourself off because you are afraid of possible injury. If your Heart Chakra is completely closed, you will express coldness, indifference or even “heartlessness.” You are completely out of balance and suffer from depression. Sadly, unhappiness is a way of life for you.

Find Us

9/4 Hyam Street
Balmain NSW 2041
(Entrance is via the Park)

Join the Mailing List